Hong Kong Tax Treaties

21 February 2012

Hong Kong Tax Treaties

Monthly Update

As from the year of assessment 2012/2013, i.e. as from April 1st 2012, Hong Kong will have 15 double taxation treaties effectively in place (with Belgium, Brunei, Mainland China, Luxembourg, Thailand, Vietnam, United Kingdom, Austria, Hungary, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Japan, the Netherlands, New Zealand and France). The ratification processes for Spain and Czech Republic have also been completed recently but will not become effective until April 1st 2013. Indonesia, Kuwait, Switzerland, Portugal and Malta have yet to be finalised.

Hong Kong has further concluded four new double taxation agreements with Mexico, the United Arab Emirates, Jersey and Malaysia, which have yet to be signed. Furthermore, double taxation negotiations are currently taking place with the following eight countries: Bangladesh, Canada, Finland, India, Italy, Korea, Macao SAR and Saudi Arabia.

If you have any questions regarding the above or other tax matters, please do not hesitate to contact us on +852 2804 0889 or by email [email protected].


Sign up for news alerts